On the Road with Healthy Kids Challenge

August 22, 2013

I’m on the back to school HKC workshop road, next stop, Wahpeton, North Dakota! So far today my long but beautiful Midwest drive has held two discoveries. First, a salad and fruit picnic lunch in the pretty and well groomed city park of Alma, Nebraska…what a healthy way to enjoy the road!

Next, IN that park was the city LIBRARY! Whether by design or not, how awesome. I spent my break envisioning kids checking out books and acting them out in the park, climbing here and running there like their book heroes or animal friends, swinging to the moon and back and racing as fast as a rocket! I plan to share this city design with many!

I am blessed to travel our country and share Healthy Kids Challenge nutrition workshops and curriculum with many but in return, I meet so many people who are dedicated KidLinks, positive role models for our kids. I am the one most fortunate in the exchange. More from the road later! -VJ, 08-19-2013

cyclists outdoors

Cyclists enjoying a beautiful morning ride

Great hotel stop in Sioux Falls, South Dakota last night with a huge treat as I woke up this morning and peeked out my window. Twenty two miles of paved walk and bike path that then connects to other parts of the city, healthy stop! After a beautiful walk in the cool breeze and warm sun, I enjoyed a tasty buffet that included whole grains and fresh fruit options, healthy stop!

Now, my focus is on to Wahpeton, North Dakota, where I will work with staff from Circle of Nations School, which is also a 24/7 living facility for their 4th-8th grade students. What an opportunity to nourish minds and bodies! You coming along? -VJ, 08-20-2013

