Nebraska Schools TEAM Up for Kids

July 29, 2013

Team Nutrition Logo

Team Nutrition Logo

The HKC team often teases “Where in the world is Vickie?” when they can’t find their director for I could be off on a plane, train, or auto trek across the U.S. working with key kid influencers we call, KidLinks. As I write, I’m in the midst of packing for a nice drive to Nebraska where I’ll get to see the reminders of a wheat harvest just wrapped up and a fields of corn tassling out.  My destination?  Kearney and Lincoln, Nebraska, where I have the honor and privilege of working with 100 school food service managers and team members from all across the state.

Thanks to USDA TEAM Nutrition training funds and the leadership of Zainab Rida, PhD, RD, TEAM Nutrition Coordinator, Nebraska Department of Education, I’ll get to spend a full day with these KidLinks working together to create plans for this coming school year that move beyond just meeting new school meal guidelines to making sure we’re feeding kids, not trashcans! With interactive learning sessions we’ll acknowledge the barriers and challenges but also feature the tools and tactics for success!

I even get to share one of our HKC tools, Explore MyPlate with School Nutrition, that schools across the country have embraced to further nutrition education efforts amongst the school cafeteria, classroom and the home. The vision for the day is that each food service director take home a plan of action for engaging kids, staff, and caregivers to support healthy eating and physical activity. Stay tuned, I’m sure I’ll have some great stories about TEAMing up for kids! – Vickie

 

